The Pamana Experience

 I used to have another blog in another domain, wherein I wrote about this very good resto located in Tagaytay City here in the Philippines. Allow me to repost that entry as it still brings about good memories of food and of course family.

May 1, 2009 – a non-working holiday in Manila (Labor Day weekend). And since our home (my parents’ room, to be exact) was undergoing some re-painting, my family decided to go on a road trip to Tagaytay. They were very much impressed with my stories regarding my palate experience at Pamana Restaurant that they decided to have lunch there – at my expense – I will be treating them for lunch. Talk about me and my big mouth.

Since we left home late (around 10AM already), we reached the place at around 1PM. The place was quite jampacked. The parking lot could accommodate around 10-12 vehicles. And It was just my (bad) luck that there was still one single parking space left (as if some powerful force reserved it for us). We went in and found that we are waiting-to-be-seated. While waiting, my Mom placed the orders – Nilagang Bulalo, Laing, Original Ilocano Bagnet (similar to the Lechon Kawali but more crispy), Pinaputok na Tilapia, Plain Rice, and Lemongrass Iced Tea in a Carafe. My Dad on the other hand, was closely looking at the memorabilia displayed on the resto’s walls, which includes photographs from the owner’s (Happy Ongpauco) family. After waiting for a couple of minutes (I must admit that the waiting time was quite long), we got our table. It was a spot at the 2nd floor, at the veranda side. My family and I liked the spot, because we were able to get a feel of the cold Tagaytay breeze, and my son can scream his heart out without causing much attention from the people who are dining inside.

Maybe because we placed our orders earlier, our waiting time for the food was better. First to be served were the Bulalo and Tilapia, followed by the Rice and Laing. The soup from the Nilagang Bulalo was very delicious. And since the climate was causing me to freeze, the soup was very comforting. The meat from the Bulalo was cooked right, it can be chewed and swallowed with minimal effort. 🙂  I was not able to savor the Tilapia yesterday but I had the chance to savor it during my first visit to Pamana last April 2009 (with my friends). The Pinaputok na Tilapia was wrapped in banana leaves. The scent from the tilapia was very appetizing and despite the fact that it was grilled, the freshness of the fish was still preserved. The flavor from the fish garnishings added to the already-enticing tilapia. According to my mom, the Laing was also delicious, although its richness made it quite “nakakaumay”. The rice serving was quite big, that one “palayok” can serve about 2-3 people. The unique Lemongrass Iced Tea came in next. I just wished it came in first because the resto doesn’t serve water unless one asks for it. Nonetheless, the unique lemongrass iced tea was a respite from the regular Nestea or Lipton variants served in other dining spots. It was not that sweet but it can surely quench any person’s thirst. Unfortunately, to my brother’s dismay (since he’s not into Bulalo, Tilapia, or Laing), the Bagnet came in late. We had to make a follow-up on it before it got served. Nevertheless, when it was served, everyone (even my Dad who was not into pork) liked the delicious crispy Ilocano delicacy. After indulging in our sumptuous meal, my dad ordered a cup of brewed coffee to “wash away” the “umay” he had from eating the Bulalo and Bagnet. It was the traditional Kapeng Barako from the nearby province of Batangas.

Overall, the Pamana food trip experience is something any Filipino food lover should try. The delectable array of food items would bring back memories of our grandmothers’ cooking. The memorabilia on the resto’s wall is a blast-from-the-past that would bring back the older generation to the good old days of Sampaguita and LVN pictures, while giving the younger generation a glimpse of how was life in the past. The resto’s cozy ambiance is very relaxing to any traveler who has just reached Tagaytay after battling it out with Manila’s traffic. Try to visit the place if you happen to be in Tagaytay:

Pamana Restaurant
Beside The Boutique – Bed and Breakfast
Just after the Tagaytay Rotunda
Aguinaldo Highway, Tagaytay City


Leave a comment

Filed under Local - Luzon

Let me know your thoughts...